The gift voucher debate

Okay, I admit it: I’m on the fence on this one.

At heart, I’m inclined to think that gift vouchers are just ‘money in fancy dress’.  Perhaps the recipient will think I was a cop-out, and couldn’t be bothered to find a decent present.  I generally avoid giving vouchers unless I can’t think of anything else more suitable. 

And yet…

I have had some very pleasant experiences of receiving gift vouchers:

  • At our wedding, some friends gave us a voucher to a fancy restaurant (the Boulcott Street Bistro).  We went to dinner there a few months later, and toasted our friends’ generosity.  What’s not to like?
  • Among other gifts, last Christmas my husband gave me a voucher to a skincare clinic that does great massages.  And if there’s one thing I love, it’s a good massage! 
  • As a child and and avid reader, I always adored receiving bookstore gift vouchers.  (Still would adore it, come to think of it!)

Apparently in some families, vouchers is just about all they give at Christmas.  Then as soon as the shops open, they happily troop out and buy whatever pleases them.  And they love it! 

So who am I to judge?  But I’d be interested in your thoughts and experiences.

Tags:

Leave a Reply

