A gift for breakfast

When I returned from Europe in 2001, I had quite a few gifts for my parents-in-law.  I find them both easy to buy for, and on my travels had found lots of things I thought would delight them. 

I was staying at their house for a while and, instead of giving them all the gifts in one big splurge, I took a different approach: each morning for the next five days or so, I put a wrapped gift at their breakfast table place settings, before they got up.  Cue five mornings of surprised exclamations from my dear friends as they came downstairs into the dining area.  Can anything be more fun than having a mystery present at the table each day? 

Giving the gifts this way allowed us all to appreciate each present in turn, and I could explain where I’d bought it and why – often there was an interesting back story.  Those were five very happy mornings. 

So if for some reason you end up with a pile of gifts for a loved one, why not give a more drawn-out and creative method a try.

Tags:

Leave a Reply

