Little gifts, big happiness

In praise of the small, spontaneous gift, which can say “I love you” just as much as the big, planned-for gift.

Case in point: last weekend I ran some errands downtown.  On my way back to the car, I passed by a local bakery.  On the spur of the moment, I popped in and bought a gooey cake to bring home for my husband. 

You should’ve seen the look on his face when he saw it: he just about turned cartwheels!  (Lest I am making him sound like a glutton, let me state for the record that he is actually very slim and sporty – but my, that man does enjoy a cream doughnut.)

It reminded me that surprising your loved ones with unexpected little treats, such as an ice-cream or slice of cheesecake, can be delightful – we don’t need to wait for birthdays, anniversaries and Christmas.

 

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

