You can’t win ‘em all

For all the striving to find good, nay, great, gifts – sometimes one’s best efforts just don’t cut it.

I learned the hard way a couple of years ago.

A friend’s birthday was coming up.  She is into scriptwriting and film, so I had the idea of getting a ‘first day cover’ – one of those special envelopes the post office issues on the first day of a new series of stamps being issued – of a new stamp series commemorating great movies of the past hundred years. 

Then I had the envelope framed.  It was wooden, painted ‘French Blue’: smoky and sophisticated.  Somehow the framed, stamped envelope ‘worked’ – it looked terrific: arty and quirky and colourful.  My colleagues loved it, when I collected it from the framer’s.  My family – to my surprise – exclaimed over it when I brought it home that night.  I liked it too, and was almost sorry to have to wrap it up and bid it goodbye.

When my friend opened the parcel, she went, “Oh…” and I could see from her rather deflated body language that the gift just didn’t really grab her all that much.

As they say, sometimes you just can’t win ‘em all.

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

