Faking it

Judy says:

I have an aunt who loves to give gifts – which is nice – but sadly it comes with an unspoken proviso: she’s not happy unless you are visibly overjoyed with the gift.  If you don’t look sufficiently thrilled, an inquisition then follows into why you “don’t like it”.  Which is horrible.  As a result, I now dread receiving gifts from my aunt, as I know my reaction is being closely watched.  Talk about pressure to perform!

I think Judy’s aunt is taking the joy of giving a little too far.  Sure, we all love to give a gift that delights the recipient, but we have to take their reaction to it as it comes.  (And who wants a fake response anyway?)

Tags:

Leave a Reply

