A little nudge

When a gift has been sent, but not acknowledged, I think a little nudge is in order.  I give people plenty of time, as life is busy, and sometimes there is more going on in others’ lives than we might realise.

But after two weeks, I think it’s acceptable to give the recipient a little prod.  Here’s the opening paragraph of an email I sent to a friend a while ago, two weeks after I’d sent her 5-year-old daughter a birthday gift:

Hi [X], Just checking to see if [Y] received a birthday gift in the post from us, a few weeks ago?  I think I still have the post office receipt somewhere and can put together a claim if it didn’t arrive.

I speedily received a reply advising that, yes, the gift had indeed been received (and much liked)!

However I’m sorry it had to come to this – a prod – in the first place.  And, although I could have instead maintained a (dignified?) silence, I think it’s acceptable to give tardy gift recipients a bit of a reminder, in the hope that they remember their manners.

Tags:

Leave a Reply

