Marian Keyes on Christmas shopping

Marian Keyes, queen of the UK chick-lit authors (and a great read – recommended!), has this to say on shopping for Christmas:

This is where I come into my own. At the best of times I’m an excellent spender of money; shopping, buying nice things, running up debt – I’m second to none. But I especially love buying presents. It’s an opportunity to buy lovely things without the consequent guilt and, instead of feeling like a spendthrift, I feel like a generous, giving person.

She adds:

Everyone hates me when I announce at the end of October that I’ve bought all my Christmas presents. Their faces go all cat’s-bum sour and someone usually says, “Well! Aren’t you little Miss Organised?” and you can tell they mean it as an insult.

Despite buying her Christmas gifts months in advance, she maintains this is actually not a good thing, citing some of the things that can befall the very early shopper, like:

  • Buying green cushions for your sister’s green-themed bedroom, only to have her redecorate it in pink in October.
  • Your mother buying for herself, in early November, the very moisturiser you had already purchased for her
  • Being unable to resist giving particularly lovely presents weeks early, only to have the recipient forget, by Christmas Day, that you had already given her her Christmas present. She now thinks you are stingy for not getting her anything.

Further Under The Duvet, Marian Keyes, 2005, Penguin Books

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

