Christmas card decoration

You can see why I was reluctant to throw out this pretty card.

Here’s how an attractive Christmas card avoided being thrown out in the trash recently, and instead ended up as a beautiful decoration which will grace our tree this December and every year thereafter, I hope.

Inspired by The Gifted Blog’s recent post about how an artist turned some gift wrap into a beautiful Christmas decoration, I decided to do the same with a pretty Christmas card we’d received.  It was a good quality card, featuring an angel made of three layers of felt and fabric.  January rolled around, but that card was simply too gorgeous to throw out…but what to do with it?

Charissa’s post was the answer to my predicament, and has provided me with a decoration that is not only pretty, but is a keepsake that will remind me of my friend Jan, who sent it.   

Now an angel decoration to grace the Christmas tree every year.

Tags: , ,

4 Responses to “Christmas card decoration”

  1. Charissa - The Gifted Blog Says:

    How sweet! I can see why you were loathe to throw that card out.

    Thanks so much for the blog mention – I am always a little thrilled when people get inspired by what I’m doing over there. The gift wrapping ornament by Jeffery Ruddell was amazing, no? Such talent!

    • kate200 Says:

      Thanks! Your post was so timely, saving me from consigning Jan’s lovely card to the rubbish bin, or the far recesses of some storage drawer. I was hoping you’d visit – I tried to leave a comment on your blog about the Christmas card decoration, but the ‘profile’ part of the comment section didn’t seem to want to know me! Trackback also failed me too, Lord knows what’s going on. Anyhow, thanks again!

  2. Charissa - The Gifted Blog Says:

    Oh, bizarre about the comment form not working. Thanks for trying to get in touch with me! Please let me know if it happens again – giftedmailbox(at)gmail(dot)com.

  3. kate200 Says:

    Thanks – will do!

Leave a Reply

