Valentine’s Day inspiration

When my husband and I were courting (only a few years ago), one Valentine’s Day he went all out and got me: a big bunch of red roses, a big bottle of champagne, and a kick-ass, king-size box of Belgian chocolates. 

I thought this was marvellous – still do – and an unusual spin-off was that it actually slaked my desire for Valentine’s Day “proof of love” gifts.  Having had my one totally-over-the-top slew of Valentine’s gifts, I never really felt that such largesse need be repeated.  (Not that I’d complain, mind!)

So in recent years, we’ve been much more restrained.  But unlike many married couples I know, we’ve never given up on Valentine’s gifts. 

SPOILER WARNING: STOP READING NOW, MARTY, IF YOU’RE READING THIS BEFORE FEBRUARY 14th!  (He checks this blog out occasionally)

This year I’m getting him a whole bunch of CDs for his car stereo.  He’s always too busy to look out new CDs for it, and as a result the soundtrack on his drive to and from work is invariably the same old music – once beloved, now very, very boring.  Changing the CDs is one of those ‘mean to get around to’ chores that I know is lurking just below his consciousness – so I think a six-pack of brand new CDs will surprise and delight him.  If I’m feeling gushy I might write him a card about how we’re still making beautiful music together.

It’s not a lavish gift, it’s not a wildly romantic gift, but I think he’ll be rapt with it, because it’s personal to his needs and tastes.  And oh my God, is he sick of those current CDs!

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

